Changes in councils across Valley

0 New heads of council in 13 Renfrew County municipalities following Oct. 27 election
October 28, 2014 at 11:51 am  •  Posted in News by  •  0 Comments

If you were to describe last night’s election results across the Ottawa Valley in one word, that word would be “change.”

No fewer than 13 municipalities in Renfrew County have elected new heads of council.

The biggest wholesale change was in McNab-Braeside where all five incumbents have been ousted. The new mayor will be Tom Peckett.

In Renfrew, Don Eady will be the next mayor and Peter Emon won the reeve’s seat in a landslide.

Mike Lemay is the mayor-elect in Pembroke, as he beat two-term incumbent Ed Jacyno by almost 700 votes.

Horton’s new mayor will be Bob Kingsbury, who pulled out a 71-vote win over Margaret Whyte.

In Petawawa, Joan Lougheed defeated incumbent David Thompson, capturing almost 80% of the vote.

Mike Donohue is the new mayor in Admaston Bromley, defeating long-time mayor Raye Anne Briscoe.

In Whitewater, Hal Johnson will be the new mayor, with a narrow win in a tight three-way race.

Kim Love defeated incumbent David Shulist in Madawaska Valley and is set to become mayor.

Other Valley heads of council elected include: Jennifer Murphy in Bonnechere Valley; Janice Visneskie Moore in Killaloe-Hagarty-Richards; Deborah Farr in North Algona Wilberforce; Glenda McKay in Greater Madawaska; Garry Gruntz in Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan; and Jim Gibson in the United Townships of Head, Clara and Maria.

Mayors who were acclaimed include David Reid in Arnprior, Bob Sweet in Petawawa, and Steve Bennett in Laurentian Valley.

Smiths Falls will have a new mayor for the first time in 20 years with Dennis Staples choosing to retire. Shawn Pankow has been elected to fill that seat.

Elsewhere in the Valley, Louis Antanakos is the new mayor in Carleton Place, and Shaun McLaughlin is mayor-elect in Mississippi Mills. John Fenik was acclaimed in Perth, as was Richard Kidd in Beckwith.


West Carleton Councillor Eli El-Chantiry was re-elected, as were Kanata councillors Alan Hubley and Marianne Wilkinson, and Stittsville Coun. Shad Qadri. They will serve under Jim Watson who ran away with the mayor’s race in Ottawa.

Leave a Reply